Roasted Orange Cauliflower

Roasted Orange Cauliflower Recipe

I had been hearing for years about the different coloured cauliflowers, and wanted to try them, the orange cauliflower in particular.  I know this is probably old news for most, but you see, we don’t have the best selection up here, and are usually at least a year or two behind when new products come on the market.  That’s the one disadvantage to living in a small northern Ontario town.

I had pretty much given up ever seeing an orange cauliflower.  And then one day this summer, and much to my surprise, a grocery store in our area had them on the shelf! I grabbed three of them LOL

EVERYTHING YOU WILL NEED

Roasted Orange Cauliflower Ingredients

I didn’t have any fresh garlic, so used a little garlic powder.

THE RECIPE

You can also make this recipe using regular white cauliflower, which I have done when I can’t get any orange ones.  But believe me, the orange cauliflower tastes so much better than white!  There really is a difference and I now prefer the orange to the white cauliflower.

We don’t get these very often, and still haven’t seen a green or purple one yet, but when I do, I will definitely try them as well.

Serves: 4 Prep Time: 5 minutes Total Time: 1 hour

Ingredients

  •  2 orange cauliflowers (cut into florets)
  •  1 clove of garlic (grated or finely minced)
  •  juice from 1 or 2 fresh lemons
  •  2 pinches of cumin
  •  2 to 4 Tablespoons Canola oil
  •  2 teaspoons course Sea salt
  •  1 teaspoon Pepper
  •  sprinkle of Italian parsley (rough chopped)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a large 11″ x 16″ baking sheet with aluminum foil
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, juice from 1/2 a lemon, garlic, and 1 pinch of cumin,  whisk mixture with whisk or fork until well blended
  3. Cut cauliflower into florets, pieces should be as close to the same size for even cooking
  4. Add the cauliflower to the bowl and toss well, make sure to coat all the florets with the oil mixture.
  5. Toss on to the foil lined baking sheet
  6. Sprinkle with salt and pepper (to taste)
  7. Bake until tender and browned on top, around 1 hour
  8. About half way through cooking, remove from oven
  9. Squeeze the juice from the second half of the lemon evenly over the florets and sprinkle with second pinch of cumin and/or additional salt if required
  10. When finished, sprinkle with the chopped parsley and serve

Note: Adjust any of these seasonings to your individual taste. I go easy on the garlic but as I love lemons, once it is finished, I actually will add more juice from a second lemon.

Roasted Orange Cauliflower

Can you say yumee?

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENT COLOURS?

White cauliflower is the most common colour of cauliflower.

Orange cauliflower contains 25% more vitamin A than white varieties.  This trait came from a natural mutant found in a cauliflower field in Canada.  Cultivars include ‘Cheddar’ and ‘Orange Bouquet’.

Green cauliflower is sometimes called broccoflower. It is available both with the normal curd shape and a variant spiky curd called Romanesco broccoli.

The purple colour in this cauliflower is caused by the presence of the antioxidant group anthocyanins, which can also be found in red cabbage and red wine. Varieties include ‘Graffiti’ and ‘Purple Cape’.

Did you know that the orange cauliflower was discovered in Canada… eh?

Update

sad …. I am so sad….  I walked into my grocery store today and I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Staring me down was this weeks featured produce.  Sitting there waiting for me was some very nice orange cauliflowers in the bin….. but wait, there’s more!  I took a look, I took another look, rubbed my eyes, and yes, there it was, the long awaited PURPLE cauliflower.

I ran over, immediately threw in two of the orange cauliflowers and went over to the purple ones.  Oh my, the disappoint I felt when I saw them up close.  They were awful, very soft and wilted with lots of black yucky marks all throughout.  Definitely not the quality I would ever buy.  It is at times like this I wish we lived in a large urban city with lots of good grocery stores and fresh markets offering high quality produce!

I was still very happy to get another feed of my orange cauliflower, but so sad I couldn’t try the purple.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

