Chinese Pork Filling with Chinese Noodles

Chinese Pork Filling

I have always loved Chinese wontons, my favourite with pork filling, but they are just so much work. Face it, after making my pork filling, I just do not have the patience or strength to make and cook all those little wontons. So I rarely had these little treasures that I enjoyed so much. Finally one day, the light bulb came on. Oops, sorry about that, did I blind you? LOL

Let’s see, I love the filling in Chinese wontons, I love my Chinese noodles, so why not just have the filling on noodles?

Problem solved! And it was absolutely delish! Now I enjoy this all the time and hope you do too!

INGREDIENTS TO GET YOU STARTED

Ooops, forgot the sugar in the picture LOL

PREPARE THE CHINESE MUSHROOMS

Instead of soaking the dried mushrooms in just plain warm water as most do, I reconstitute mine in a flavoured warm water solution, by adding:

  • enough warm water to cover the mushrooms
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • 2 drops of sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon of soy sauce
  • pinch of grated ginger

Soak for 20-30 minutes or until they have softened. Squeeze to remove any excess liquid, discard stem (or cut around).

PREPARE THE LIQUID MIXTURE

Make the liquid mixture next so it can sit and the flavours can combine.

  • 2 Tablespoons Kikkoman soy sauce
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger
  • 2 Tablespoons Canadian Imperial Sherry (or similar) *
  • 5-6 drops of sesame oil
  • Dash of red pepper chili flakes

Once you make it the first time, you may want to adjust amounts of some of the ingredients to your taste.

* see tip below

TIP

Never use a cooking sherry, use a good quality sherry.

My motto for using any alcohol in a recipe is …..

If you wouldn’t drink it, don’t use it in your recipes!

PREPARE THE VEGGIES

This is what takes the most time.

Chop all veggie ingredients, put in separate bowls

  • 1 cup water chestnuts, rough chopped
  • 1 or 2 whole green onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of baby bok choy stems, rough chopped
  • 1 ½ to 2 cups of baby bok choy leaves, rough chopped
  • 1/2 cup Chinese mushrooms, rough chopped
  • 1 Crimini (brown) mushroom, finely chopped

You can chop to your desired consistency. I like larger pieces that I can see and get a better taste. Some folks like things chopped finer. It is definitely your preference.

PREPARING THE BABY BOK CHOY

Preparing the baby bok choy

I use and recommend using Baby Bok Choy.

I cut off the root end, separate and break apart all the pieces from the bunch. Remove and discard any old looking or yellowing pieces. Wipe off any dirt, soak the individual pieces in cold water for a few minutes, drain well.

I cut off the end of the stem and discard.

I cut the white stem and chop those up until I have around 1/4 cup.

I roll up several leaves at a time, cut slices, then rough chop until I have around 1 1/2 to 2 cups

PREPARE THE PORK

prepare the pork

In a frying pan over medium heat, fry 1 1/2 to 2 pounds good quality lean ground pork. I like using ground pork as it is much easier to prepare than cutting up lean pork.

TIP

For additional flavour, fry the ground pork with onion powder, garlic powder and pepper to taste.

Fry pork until cooked, strain all but around 1 tablespoon of the fat.

Note: Use onion and garlic powder (not salt)

COMBINING ALL THE INGREDIENTS

combining all the ingredients

Over medium heat, to the cooked pork, add in the following order:

  1. Water chestnuts and baby bok choy stems, mix in and cook for couple of minutes
  2. Cremini mushrooms, mix in and cook for a couple of minutes
  3. Chinese mushrooms, mix in and cook for a couple of minutes
  4. Baby bok choy leaves and green onion, mix in and cook for a couple of minutes
  5. Liquid mix, mix well

Cover and simmer for 5 minutes

Then adjust any seasoning to taste and for final step, add:

1 to 2 Tablespoons Oyster sauce (I use Golden Dragon)

To add a little more tang, I add 1-2 teaspoons of rice vinegar (optional)

PICK YOUR NOODLES

Pick your Chinese noodles

You can now add my Chinese pork filling over a bowl of your favourite noodles.

There are times like this I wish I lived in a big city that had a Chinatown I could shop for ingredients at.  I am lucky I guess that I can even find my Chinese mushrooms!

And finally…….. MIX IN and ENJOY!

Kathy's Chinese Pork Filling with Chinese Noodles

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

